Another well-deserved award for Peggy Gilligan

Margaret Gilligan
Share this article: FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin

Retired FAA Exec Gilligan Wins Barbour Air Safety Award






Laura Taber Harbour Award

 Peggy Gilligan receives Flight Safety Foundation’s high honor




This is not the first time that Margaret “Peggy” Gilligan’s name has appeared here. Here a sampling of titles drawn from the archives:

Margaret Gilligan retires from FAA having laid sound foundations for a proactive, consistent & dynamic safety culture

There are many more articles in which the Associate Administrator for Aviation Safety has been the catalyst for some safety action.

Flight Safety Foundation logo

Today’s post is to note that Peggy has received another honor; this one is the Flight Safety Foundation’s highest honor, the Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award

The Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award “recognizes notable achievement in the field of aviation safety — civil or military — in method, design, invention, study or other improvement.” Each year, the Award recipients are selected for “significant individual or group effort contributing to improving aviation safety, with emphasis on original contributions,” and a “significant individual or group effort performed above and beyond normal responsibilities.” Mechanics, engineers and others outside of top administrative or research positions should be especially considered. The contribution need not be recent, especially if the nominee has not received adequate recognition.


So well deserved and just one of the many tributes which she has earned

  • April 2006, Laurel Award from Aviation Week & Space Technology magazine for improving aviation safety and “reducing the risk of fatalities in world aviation” through CAST
  • 2009, the Robert J. Collier Trophy in recognition of the Commercial Aviation Safety Team’s (CAST) work in developing an integrated data-driven strategy that reduced aviation fatalities in the United States by 83 percent over 10 years
  • 2011, the Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership. The annual award is given to two Federal senior executives who have shown exceptional leadership while devoting themselves to a career of public service.
  • 2013 Presidential Distinguished Rank Award for her 2012 work for the FAA. It is an award confined to Senior Executives, numbering 7,086 high level federal executives, and of that category only 46 were recognized for their efforts in 2012 or 0.65%.




  • 2014, Welch Pogue Award for Lifetime Achievement in Aviation. The award recognizes her visionary leadership in the aviation community and was given by Aviation Week & Space Technology and the International Aviation Club.
  • the 2017 NBAA Silk Scarf Award to honor outstanding business aviation community members and inspire future aviators.Peggy NBAA silk scarf award



Thanks, Peggy for your hard work, for your contribution to safety and for dedication to federal service.



Share this article: FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin

Be the first to comment on "Another well-deserved award for Peggy Gilligan"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.