Well Deserved Aviation Safety Efforts Honored!

Share this article: FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin

Are there Other Achievements that should be Recognized?

ARTICLE: GA Awards Presentation Details Announced

Awards and trophies are things that are typically associated with academics and athletics, but upon further contemplation, competitions like the Academy Awards, the Pulitzer Prize and the Nobel Prize are highly regarded. Perhaps their existence inspires others to higher performances. Clearly, the ceremonies celebrate the excellence and probably remind those watching of the benefits for striving for the highest levels of professionalism.

Aviation professionals may not revel enough in the glory of our work and the superior efforts of our co-workers. It is nice to see the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and the industry sponsors support the annual General Aviation (GA) Awards. Apologies for the lengthy list of the donors, but they, too, merit mention:

Women in Aviation International, Universal Avionics Systems Corporation, Snap-On Tools , Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation, The Society of Aviation and Flight Educators, Ninety-Nines International , the National Business Aviation Association, the National Association of State Aviation Officials , National Aviation Safety Foundation, the National Air Transportation Association , Rod Machado, King Schools, Jeppesen , Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation, Gleim Publications, the General Aviation Manufacturers Association, Garmin International, FAASTeam Associates LLC, the Flight School Association of North America, Duncan Aviation, David Clark Company, Cessna Aircraft Corporation, Bose Corporation, the Aircraft Maintenance Technology Society, Aircraft Electronics Association, the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association, the Aeronautical Repair Station Association, Aviation Supplies & Academics, and numerous anonymous individual donors

The deserving winners of this year’s GA Awards are:

  • William T. “Bill” Fifles of Honolulu, Hawaii – Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) of the Year;
  • Bruce Allan Lundquist of Willis, Michigan – Avionics Technician (AVN Tech) of the Year;
  • Dean Wesley Eichholz of Soldotna, Alaska – Certificated Flight Instructor (CFI) of the Year; and
  • Master CFI Mark Edward Madden of Anchorage, Alaska – FAA Safety Team (FAASTeam Rep) Representative of the Year.

CONGRATULATIONS to all and most importantly, by attaining such heights of aviation safety excellence, you will inspire others to do the same or better.

NOTE TO OUR READERS: Are there aviation safety achievements that are not presently adequately recognized? Your thoughts on the classes of performance that should be rewarded would be appreciated. Please include your ideas in the COMMENTS section below.

Share this article: FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin

Be the first to comment on "Well Deserved Aviation Safety Efforts Honored!"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.