POLL of the Best of the DoT Secretaries

Share this article: FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin

Secretaries of Transportation


As the nomination of Mayor Anthony Foxx moves forward to confirmation as Secretary- of Transportation, it is a good time to pause and reflect on his 16 predecessors.

Alan Boyd
John Volpe
Claude Brinegar
William Coleman
Brock Adams
Neil Goldschmidt
Drew Lewis
Elizabeth Dole
James H. Burnley, IV
Samuel K. Skinner
Andrew Card
Federico Peña
Rodney Slater
Norman Mineta
Mary Peters
Ray LaHood

Who among them impressed you:

  • as a good executive,
  • as a Secretary who worked well with Congress on aviation matters,
  • as one who appropriately managed the FAA and the Administrator, and
  • as one who left a legacy of excellent aviation policy?

Let us know your top 5 in the comments box. We will publish the results in a later blog piece.

The deadline for responses is Friday, May 24, 5pm EDT.

Share this article: FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin

1 Comment on "POLL of the Best of the DoT Secretaries"

  1. Sandy Murdock | May 17, 2013 at 5:05 pm | Reply

    #1 Lewis #2 Mineta #3 Coleman #4 Boyd #5 Card

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.